

## Extraordinary General Meeting for Election of Independent Directors

## Monday 22/03/2021

Remote Conference Call over Zoom

Attendees: President Grainne Cuillton (GC), Vice President Clodagh NicCanna (CNC), Alfredo Aloi, Secretary Regina Halpin (RH), Erica Fatini, General Manager Gary Stewart (GS)

Club representatives: Gerry White (Aer Lingus), Alfredo Aloi (Netforce Cork), Anna Galinat (DVC), Anna Ryan (Gardians VC), Audrey Burns (BMP VC), Ben Bancquart (TR VC) Clement Calvino (UCD), Denise Tallon (Santry VC), Dee Moloney (Burren VC), Des Currivan (E&T Commission), Laura Flores (GVC), Lee Annand (GVC), Mar Jimenez (Netforce Cork), Martin O'Connor (Newbridge VC), Mikal O'Boyle (Mayo VC), Lucia Barbato (Santry VC), Benny O'Regan (Kilkenny Spartans VC), Robert Wypiorczyk (Munster Thunder) and Alex Rojas (TCD).

Agenda Item	Agenda Details
1. Opening of meeting	Meeting opened at 20:05 by President GC
	Zoom housekeeping addressed by GS
	Quorum met.
2. Overview of Nominations Process &	Background context for independent directors presented by President GC:
Background	<ul> <li>Volleyball Ireland permitted to have between 6 &amp; 9 Board members.</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Currently have 6 Board Members in place (Grainne, Clodagh, Alfredo, Erica, Regina &amp; Barbara)</li> </ul>
	• Two x Board Members must be independent – this means not nominated by clubs
	or active members of clubs.

	<ul> <li>Previously these were Aidan Curran &amp; Peter McDonnell who resigned in Autumn 2020.</li> <li>As per constitution, an independent nominations committee makes a recommendation to the board, which is ratified by the members</li> <li>Board can also co-opt up to two Board Members based on desired skill sets.</li> <li>Separately, BWJ will be stepping down from the role of treasurer. GC thanked BWJ for all her work with the VI board.</li> <li>Nominations Process explained by President GC.</li> <li>Both Independent Vacancies became available in October</li> <li>Position Advertised in November</li> <li>Nominations Committee Appointed in December         <ul> <li>Grainne Culliton, Michelle Tanner, John Doherty</li> <li>17 high calibre applications received.</li> <li>Shortlisting complete in mid-January</li> <li>Interviews held in early February.</li> <li>Nominations Committee recommended the appointments of Derek McGrath &amp; Cliona Boland as Independent Directors at the February Board Meeting</li> <li>EGM called at the start of March.</li> <li>Committee also recommended that Stephen Moreton &amp; Rachael Kilgallen would be suitable for co-option if vacancies arise.</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
3. Election of Independent Board Members	The Nominations: <b>Derek McGrath;</b> Derek is an industry expert in sport, having previously served as the CEO of European Cup Rugby Ltd, CEO of the Curragh Racecourse and as a Board Member of Basketball Ireland. Derek co-founded Openside Consultancy and Sport2Sport – which specialises in helping sports organisations achieve growth and success for their future. Derek is a Rugby International gaining five caps for Ireland in the 1980s.

	<b>Cliona Boland:</b> Cliona is a practising barrister and a member of the Law Society of Ireland, where she currently sits on the Sports Law committee. Cliona has previously held a number of Committee and Board level roles including on the external panel of Gymnastics Ireland's Vetting Committee. She recently completed a Diploma in Sports Law and has taught at a number of Irish Universities including both Trinity College Dublin and University College Dublin.
	Election of Independent Board Members: GC called for vote by objection i.e., if anyone has any objection to either nominee being voted onto the board of Volleyball Ireland to please raise their hand. No objections were raised and both nominees were elected to Volleyball Ireland Board unanimously
4. Close of Meeting	Closed meeting at 20.14