Keep up to date with weekly news on Monster Block!

New Board Members

Volleyball Ireland have appointed two Independent Directors to join the Board of Administration.

At an EGM on Monday, member clubs unanimously ratified the recommendation of the Volleyball Ireland Independent Nominations Committee to appoint Derek McGrath & Clíona Boland to the Board.

Volleyball Ireland President Grainne Culliton said, “We’re delighted to bring two really high calibre professionals on to the Board. They will certainly add value to our current Board and help our continued improvement and strategic growth over the coming years. We were humbled by the level and quality of candidates for the Independent Director role, which is a strong sign of our progress and interest in Volleyball Ireland.”

Derek McGrath; Derek is an industry expert in sport, having previously served as the CEO of European Cup Rugby Ltd, CEO of the Curragh Racecourse and as a Board Member of Basketball Ireland.  Derek co-founded Openside Consultancy and Sport2Sport – which specialises in helping sports organisations achieve growth and success for their future. Derek is a Rugby International gaining five caps for Ireland in the 1980s.

Cliona Boland; Cliona is a practising barrister and a member of the Law Society of Ireland, where she currently sits on the Sports Law committee. Cliona has previously held a number of Committee and Board level roles including on the external panel of Gymnastics Ireland’s Vetting Committee. She recently completed a Diploma in Sports Law and has taught at a number of Irish Universities including both Trinity College Dublin and University College Dublin.

Both Directors will serve a three year term which is renewable once.

The Board have also announced that Barbara Wojcik-Jaruga from Balbriggan Volleyball Club has stepped down as Company Treasurer. Volleyball Ireland would like to thank Barbara for her hard work and dedication over the last year. Grainne added, “Barbara really stepped up to the plate for us and has done a fantastic job since her appointment, helping improve our various processes and systems. The Treasurer role isn’t an easy one and we are incredibly grateful for her commitment and hard work.”

The Board have also co-opted Rachael Kilgallen, a chartered accountant from County Sligo and Stephen Moreton, a high performance consultant, on to the Board on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee. Rachael will take up the role of Treasurer until the AGM on May 15, when the position will be available for election.

As per the Constitution, the Board can be made up of between six & nine members, two of which must be Independent Directors, and two members can be co-opted by the Board based on required skill sets.

The Board of Volleyball Ireland is now comprised of;

  1. Grainne Culliton, President (Ballymun Patriots)
  2. Clodagh NicCanna, Vice President (DVC)
  3. Regina Halpin, Secretary (UCD)
  4. Rachael Kilgallen, Treasurer
  5. Alfredo Aloi (Net Force Cork)
  6. Erica Fatini (Munster Thunder)
  7. Derek McGrath
  8. Cliona Boland
  9. Stephen Moreton

The Board would also like to add it’s thanks to John Doherty & Michelle Tanner for their work on the Nominations Committee.